Greenhouse trialLatvia · 2025
Lettuce: fresh plant mass
+10.3% observed fresh mass
Lollo Bionda lettuce receiving 0.2 L/ha twice alongside NPK averaged more fresh mass per plant than the NPK-only control.
Observed comparison| NPK-only control | 70.21 g/plant |
|---|
| NPK + ChitoHumus | 77.41 g/plant |
|---|
Statistical significance was not reported. Fresh mass is not equivalent to dry matter or nutritional quality.
Methods & interpretation
AREI Stende greenhouse pots; 10 plants per comparison arm. Two foliar treatments, with a water volume of 200 L/ha. The lower 0.1 L/ha treatment averaged 65.07 g/plant, below control. This is one crop, setting and treatment comparison.
Source: AREI lettuce and pea report, first lettuce results table; raw workbook sheet “salāti”, D50 and D72.
Laboratory studyLatvia · report 2026
Oats: early seedling response
+54% seven-day shoot mass
Untreated oat seeds soaked in a 1:100 dilution produced greater shoot mass than the water control in this laboratory test.
Observed comparison| Water control | 100% |
|---|
| 1:100 dilution | 154% of control |
|---|
This was a seven-day laboratory endpoint, not harvested yield. Formal statistical tests and plate replication were not specified.
Methods & interpretation
University of Latvia germination-plate study at 22 °C. Seeds were soaked overnight without chemical etching. Root mass in this comparison was 109% of control. Other dilutions did not consistently improve growth.
Source: University of Latvia report, Figure 7 and discussion, pp. 14–15; report dated Riga 2026.
Field trialLatvia · 2025
Potatoes: yield comparison
No statistically significant yield increase
Paroli potatoes receiving 0.1 L/ha twice with basal NPK showed a small observed yield difference from the NPK control.
Observed comparison| NPK-only control | 47.24 t/ha |
|---|
| NPK + ChitoHumus | 49.33 t/ha |
|---|
The report explicitly found no significant yield increase. Treatments without basal fertilizer yielded less.
Methods & interpretation
AREI Stende field trial, two applications in July 2025. The approximately 2.10 t/ha difference was smaller than the report’s LSD at 0.05 of 3.76 t/ha. Marketable fractions in a small tuber sample must not be interpreted as whole-field marketable yield.
Source: AREI potato report, Table 4.1 and results conclusion.
Greenhouse trialLatvia · 2025
Peas: biomass at early flowering
+33.9% observed fresh mass per pot
Casablanca peas receiving 0.2 L/ha three times alongside NPK averaged more fresh biomass per pot than the NPK-only control.
Observed comparison| NPK-only control | 76.55 g/pot |
|---|
| NPK + ChitoHumus | 102.51 g/pot |
|---|
The crop was harvested early after mildew developed. This is vegetative biomass, not harvested pea or grain yield. Significance was not reported.
Methods & interpretation
AREI greenhouse pot trial; nine nonmissing control pot totals and ten treated totals. Per-pot values are used because some per-plant spreadsheet formulas include the pot total as though it were another plant. Those per-plant percentages are not used here.
Source: AREI lettuce and pea report, Table 2.1; workbook “zirņi”, J48 and J70.
Laboratory studyLatvia · report 2026
Peas: inhibited germination growth
A negative response in this setup
Pea seedling root and shoot mass decreased at every tested dilution. At 1:100, shoot mass was 34% of the water control.
Observed comparison| Water control | 100% |
|---|
| 1:100 dilution | 34% of control |
|---|
This result matters when selecting a crop and method. It differs from the foliar greenhouse treatments and should not be hidden by positive results.
Methods & interpretation
University of Latvia seven-day germination test with non-etched seeds. Root mass at 1:100 was 54% of control. Formal significance tests were not specified. A general seed-treatment recommendation cannot be inferred from the positive oat result.
Source: University of Latvia report, Figure 9 and discussion, p. 17.
Field trial · calculation noteLatvia · 2025
Table beet: a result to clarify
Positive observation; headline percentage withheld
The Kestrel table-beet report records a positive yield response. The summary and raw replicate calculations do not use the same set of values.
The often-quoted +39.4% uses a summary that omits one of four displayed replicates. A numerical headline should await clarification from the report authors.
Methods & interpretation
The raw workbook’s “bietes” cells S161:S166 average columns P:R, omitting O, while the ANOVA includes all four replicates. Recalculating all four gives 43.37 vs 56.48 t/ha for the no-NPK control and the 0.2 L/ha treatment. This is an audit calculation, not an author-corrected result or proof of fertilizer replacement.
Source: AREI beet report, Table 4.1; original workbook “bietes”, O161:S166 and Y159:AF176.
Read the source behind the summary
These are summaries of supplied technical reports, including commissioned research. They are not presented as peer-reviewed ChitoHumus journal papers or institutional endorsements. Original documents are preserved without modification, with known calculation issues identified here.
Browse the reports and raw workbook.